shuffle step back

I’m putting together an exhibition at the moment called, “A History of Music”. It has been an interesting process.  The community has been very helpful in providing photos and oral histories to smooth things along. However,  not everything is a story, and I just don’t have the space to put up a list of every musician in the valley.

“Have you heard this name?”

No.

“Well, they used to play (insert musical instrument here).

Do you have any photos or recordings?

“No. But they were good.”

What do I do with this? I can’t tell you how many people have dropped by with names, etc and I take them down knowing I won’t be using them, because at this point I’ve already designed panels, time lines, etc, and a random name, well, that’s just not going to fit into the cohesion I’m trying to make.

Still, I don’t want to leave them out. There will be an audio/visual part to the exhibition (i.e. a dvd slideshow that I have to make) and I’m thinking of adding the random names and quotes into that…

Sigh. I wish I had some help.

Its hard working in such a small environment, where it feels like the community knows you, but I’m locked away in the attic, working, and only see people when buzzed down.

6 Comments

Filed under curator chronicles

6 responses to “shuffle step back

  1. Oh dear, people who try to be helpful but really have no useful information. Not good, not good at all. I do like the random names and quotes idea, though. It would be a good way to pay tribute to the people who were trying to lend a hand.

    That reminds me, the mag is out. I don’t yet have a copy, but will get you one as soon as I can.

  2. No, not at all. I feel like I spend half my day shifting through the useless information in an attempt not to offend the public with my choices. Oi and vey. Yeah, I think I’ll incorporate that into the dvd.

    Excellent! Look forward to it. :)

  3. This is a Cancon sitcom in the making

  4. Oh, you have no idea. Its Corner Gas meets Road to Avonlea plus the annoyances of the Gilmore Girls. ;)

  5. Hi Allison,

    I hope you will post some pictures to show us the fruits of your labours. This enterprise sounds very interesting and I would love to see and hear more about it.

    Good luck with the finalizing of the project. It’s nice when one can combine passions with our worklife.

    s

  6. Allison

    Depending on if it turns out, I’ll post some pictures. ;) I won’t be installing for another few weeks but I will keep everyone posted!

Leave a Reply

