cheerleader

Two people in my life today received news. One good, the other bad.

I found these details out within minutes of waking. My brain was trying to process everything and I was trying to be the shoulder for one, and elated for the other. Not an easy task.

Ever find yourself saying something you don’t necessarily quite believe (or know) yourself?

“It’ll be okay. Things will pick-up…these things just take time.”

I could feel the cliches coming out of my mouth and wished I could offer more. But alas, all I could offer was an ear. If geography were not an issue, I would have wished for a mango tree and made something sweet, to distract.

4 Comments

Filed under direction, friends, honeybees, hope

4 responses to “cheerleader

  1. fearless

    Be Aggressive! B-E Aggressive! B-E-A-GG-R-E-SS-I-V-E!!

    Seriously though, it may be hard to encourage your friends when you’re not so sure yourself, but it is comforting and things will definitely pick up once April is over!

  2. (insert handclaps and fist hoorays)

    Yeah, I think it helped, they seem to be in better spirits now. May is looking very good. I am excited. Been a long winter of discontent.

  3. Ever find yourself saying something you don’t necessarily quite believe (or know) yourself? Yes, sadly that is sometimes standard operating procedure in parenthood, it seems.

    But it’s the comfort that platitudes offer that is the important part. I’m sure your friends appreciated that, despite the lack of mango.

  4. what, parents don’t have all the answers? ;)

    this is true, i know its all i want after hearing bad news. never underestimate the power of a shoulder, or ear. :)

Leave a Reply

