there are two sides to every issue: one side is right and the other is wrong, but the middle is always evil

So I’m clicking through books on Amazon, trying to buy the second part of a gift for The Boy who has a birthday coming up. Funnily enough it’s just two days before mine (go Gemini’s!).  I love giving books as the dessert portion of a gift, if you will. Sometimes they can be the main course, but in this case, they are dessert. I haggled with comic book geeks on Ebay for the entrée.

I tell you its hard dating a nerd. It’s like learning a new language.

I can say that because I’m a geek.

Anyway, so I’m clicking through Amazon in the literature section and leaning towards purchasing some Vonnegut (which he’s never read…I know!) when I stumble into the “Customers who bought this book also bought…” and I see her name flash on the screen.

My literary (somewhat) nemesis:

Ayn Rand.

My eyes become slits and a fist shake towards the computer.

Do you know I’ve been reading Atlas Shrugged since I was 13? 13!!

It has made it with me through every move, because I refuse to let it win. One day, I will be able to get through it without having to throw it across the room in frustration. This is not because it’s a horrible book, it’s just so dense…and I’ve read Ulysses and War and Peace. I really should have just started with The Fountainhead (which I have since read) and I have read her novella, Anthem, and thoroughly enjoyed it, but this Atlas Shrugged…sigh.

Have a book like that on your list?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “there are two sides to every issue: one side is right and the other is wrong, but the middle is always evil

  1. I do, and I am hanging my head in shame, because it’s a fascinting book, but I have never quite finished it. It’s Bill Bryson’s A Short History of Nearly Everything, and while reading it, I understood string theory, for crying out loud, so you know it has to be well written, but I just never get around to finishing those last chapters.

    My former boss gave it to me before he left for Oxford, let’s see …four years ago. So I guess you are still beating me in that corner.

    I did however finish Atlas Shrugged and can barely remember a thing about it.

  2. I never got through A Short History of Nearly Everything, either. I am looking forward to starting the other Bryson book you gave me though! :)

    So I guess it happens to the best of us. :)

  3. fearless

    Ulysses…. Leopold Bloom I hate you so…..

  4. Allison

    Yeah…irritating character. That book was one of my toughest reads.

  5. fearless

    I actually have 2 copies of the book, one I’ve had for roughly 12 years….

  6. Allison

    I have two copies of Don Quixote that I’m holding out of spite. Next to Bloom, I found Quixote to be the most annoying character I have ever encountered. Granted the book influenced a lot of art…

  7. Tess of the D’Ubervilles.

    I’ve just started A Short History. I’m not too encouraged, now!

  8. You’ll be able to beat it, John. Let us know how it ends! ;)

Leave a Reply

