and i’d like to watch the white flesh of your heels as they take turns breaking the desert heat

A new Sunset Rubdown song premiered today. You can stream it at Pitchfork, or inquire within if you’d like the mp3.

I was clicking around YouTube tonight after playing the song at least a dozen times, and stumbled across this gem I hadn’t heard before. It made me heart swell, ever so slightly. You know that feeling when you love a band so much that any new music immediately captivates you. Its almost like you can feel yourself being changed by it…

When was the last time you had that feeling?

7 Comments

Filed under memory, music

7 responses to “and i’d like to watch the white flesh of your heels as they take turns breaking the desert heat

  1. I absolutely adore Sunset Rubdown and immense thanks to you for directing me to the new one. I really enjoyed the video you posted too. The Black Cab Sessions have never disappointed. (Search out Emmy the Great or Daniel Johnston for my personal favourites.)

    Recommendation of the day! Thank you Allison!
    s

  2. I haven’t been able to get Idiot Heart off repeat. I cannot wait for their new one…not much longer!

    The Black Cab sessions are so inspired. They are great to watch. Glad you enjoyed the clips! :)

  3. “You know that feeling when you love a band so much that any new music immediately captivates you.”

    That’s what gives my life joy, Allison.

  4. Props to any band that can play keyboards in the backseat of a car, is all I can say.

    That’s a lovely find.

    And I have that feeling of being changed by new music on a pretty regular basis, thankfully.

  5. First off I gott thank you for turning me on to Sunset Ruddown! I’ve heard that name all over the place and never really bothered to listen.

    And yeah I totally know that feeling. I think I live for that feeling. Which is abit sad. But hey =)

  6. Beth: Its a great feeling. :)

    Barb: My thoughts exactly. I like the improvised drumset too!

    BAP: Yay! Glad to introduce you to Sunset Rubdown! They are one of my favourite bands, I do hope you enjoy all else that you hear. :)

Leave a Reply

