you gotta bring your own sword, sweet girl

I heard this song yesterday. Its the new Tori Amos song, “Welcome to England.”

The video made my homesick, if you will. Funny because its shot in London, a city I am not particularly fond of.

Also, at sound of her voice I was immediately transportated back to my teenage self. By the time the chorus was ringing in my ears I was in first year university, lying down on my single bed, starring up at the twinkle lights my roommate and I had hung and looking out the window at the freshly fallen snow. If I closed my eyes I could hear a little Ani in the background, coming down the hall from B’s room.

I miss those twinkle lights.

9 Comments

Filed under memory, music

9 responses to “you gotta bring your own sword, sweet girl

  1. Even though the video is disabled, your description is enough to transport me back to my first year of university. I only had a roommate for a month or so. The culture shock of moving from Montreal to a residence in Winnipeg was too overwhelming for her. And yet for me, it opened up a whole new world.

  2. We must be cut from the same cloth Allison. I superglued glow in the dark stars (a whole Universe) on my dorm room ceiling. I recall so very well sitting in the dark and listening to “Hatfull of Hollow” and “Murmur” and your post took me back to that little universe immediately. It was the best of times, it was the best of times :)

    Apologies to Dickens. Thanks for the trip back.

    s

  3. Hi Allison – I haven’t dropped by in a while and it is great to catch up on some of your fine musings. I am infinitely glad that you are still sharing your thoughts with the world.

    Tori Amos is great – her first album brings back a lot of memories for me, and at the time many of the themes resonated strongly as I was finding my own way in the world and feeling far removed from the innocence of childhood that in numerical terms I wasn’t far away from, but felt a world away.

    She is an enigma, and I appreciate the conceptual narratives she provides to her albums, creating cohesive entities that are a good counter measure to much of the disposal singles oriented pop music that is rising to prominence in the digital age.

  4. Barb: D’oh. I didn’t notice that embedding was disabled.

    The roommate experience is really interesting. I really should write about that someday. Its something I’m glad I experienced, but also something I’d never want to do again, if you know what I mean.

    Sean: I had stars in my room at my parents house. Not, the whole universe though. But oh, it was the best of times, it was the best of times! I like that. :)

    Westcoast Walker: Hello! Good to have you drop by.

    She weaves such a strong narrative, its so easy to get lost her in voice and words. I find I always, always put her music on repeat, because my mind wanders so I have to go back and make sure I didn’t miss anything. :)

  5. Not available in my country?! It’s about my country! I will endeavour to find it elsewhere, I rather like Tori Amos. In the meantime, great description :)

  6. Allison

    Stupid YouTube restrictions!! Hope you can find it elsewhere, its a good one. :)

  7. Sounds very Kate Bush-ish in this vid, doesn’t she?

  8. I like her and I’m still homesick for England but glad to be here. Is that possible?

  9. Whitenoise: Yeah, I hear that. Especially at the start.

    GT: Yes! I know exactly what you mean. I was just thinking out that writing my last post. I’m homesick, but happy to be where I am.

Leave a Reply

