maybe together we can get somewhere

It’s funny where the mind wanders when sitting on the traction table, in the dark, in the early hours of the morning.

I was composing emails, to be sent once finished.

Sketching my next painting.

Figuring out the last minute things to add to my list for The Boy’s visit tonight. Check, check.

I visited another time, and briefly wished that things were different and wondered what if. Then thought about previous point and realised the excited butterflies in my stomach now, are a hundred times better than an awkward shoe gaze.

I zoned out listening to Tracy Chapman’s ‘Fast Car’ on the radio. I do heart that tune. Takes me back…

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “maybe together we can get somewhere

  1. Fast Car takes me back too but more to a time when I was more of a moron than I am now. I remember mishearing and asking about the lyric ‘and your arms felt nice wrapped round my shoulder’ which I somehow thought was ‘and your arms and legs wrapped round my shoulders’. I think I was stoned so please forgive me.

  2. I love this song. I don’t have much more to say about that. Have fun with The Boy! :P

  3. Sorry, Allison, have I missed something? Have you broken a leg. Is that why you’re on a traction table – or maybe I’m mis-interpreting something

  4. Have a fabulous time with The Boy and say hi for me! He’s a good one.

  5. Dale: Hahaha! That’s great, I love your misheard lyric. Stoned, or not. ;)

    Todd: Me too. Wow, we agree on a song! Someone write this down…

    Thanks, we had a good weekend. Time to get back to reality now.

    GT: Oh, I have a pinched nerve in my neck and sprained rotator cuff. :) I can’t remember if I posted about it.

    Barb: I did and he says hello back! :)

  6. I too, heart this song immensely =) Even if I spent the better part of several years under the impression that Tracy Chapman was a man.

  7. I might have missed it while away dog-sledding
    IT sounds dreadful
    Get well soon

  8. Allison

    BAP: Hahaha! That kills me. Glad you know the truth now.

    GT: Not the greatest feeling, but physio is helping. Thanks. :)

Leave a Reply

