birch

I don’t even know where to start.

This week has been so full, everyday so exhausting (in a good way), I’m still trying to process everything.

I arrived in my new town on Wednesday, after a glorious trek through the Rockies…where wildlife was finally seen (see moose below). You’d think with the size they would be easier to spot, but they kind of sneak up on you.

My new house and roommate are great. I’m house sitting for him for the next month, as he is away, which includes dog sitting. Skeena is part lab and husky and the most well behaved dog I have ever met. She’s at my feet now, I’ll have to take a few pictures and upload. The house has a couple of quirks, mainly my bathroom, but also the oven door, which is also broken, and has to be propped up with a chair to close, which is problematic and dangerous. I might have to limit my baking.

Started work today, and the people seem to be very lovely. There is defintely a lot of work to do, but I’m looking forward to the challenge.

The town itself is much bigger than I thought, roughly 20,000 people. I’ve already been to the library, art store, tea house, and sushi bar. Oh, and I befriended the bartender at the pub yesterday. They have a dozen kinds of cider! I think I’ll fit right in.

I have heaps of photos to share, but might take a while to upload to Flickr. I have about two dozen road signs alone, and of course traveling Yoda needs his own album. Here are a few in the meantime.

moose

Moose!

img_2087Some white-tail deer were also spotted along the road. Don’t see many of them in Ontario.

img_2040Athabasca Glacier in the Rocky Mountains. This picture does not do it justice.

img_1971En route to Jasper.

img_1919Traveling Yoda.

img_2110Driving into the Bulkley Valley, at sunset.

7 Comments

Filed under nomad diaries

7 responses to “birch

  1. captainfearless

    Glad to hear you are feeling comfortable in your new surroundings. Great Pix!

  2. Its a great backdrop to settle into, its helping the transition. :)

  3. It sounds like a great new start to things. I don’t think I’ve tasted anything other than apple cider outside my childhood. Is it alcoholic then? If so, I’ll have one please.

  4. Your pictures are breathtaking Allison. What an amazing adventure for you, albeit a tad overwhelming I’m sure. Thanks for sharing best of luck in your new environs. You’re a brave soul!

    Don’t forget to breathe. :-)
    s

  5. Dale: Oh yes, there are hundreds of kinds of cider! Apple is good, but pear is much better. :)

    Sean: It is slightly overwhelming, but just trying to take one day at a time. Glad you liked the pics, more on Facebook! And about 200 more on top of that!

  6. So glad that you are settling in, and gladder yet about the availability of cider. This is always a good sign. Hugs to Yoda!

  7. I was quite chuffed about the variety of cider! Good sign indeed!

Leave a Reply

