i’m wondering

On average, how often do you wash a pair of jeans?

This came up over tea today with a friend, who admitted to washing after every wear.

(insert an eyebrow raise)

Every single time you wear a pair of jeans, you wash them? Seriously?

Does this make me extremly filthy, for not? Unless I’m physically rolling in mud, have encountered a spill or whathaveyou, I get a least a couple wears out of them. I thought this was the case with everyone. Huh.

Oh, and Mother Nature, we get it. Please make the snow subside. Please.

img_17092

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “i’m wondering

  1. When they start to stink.

    Isn’t mud by it’s very nature always soft?

  2. Ooops, ignore the apostrophe in “it’s”.

  3. I agree.

    Except when its frozen. Guess they should take it down in winter. ;)

  4. captainfearless

    After 2 wears usually.

    Whitest mud i ever did see.

  5. About once a week, unless I spill something on them, which happens often, sadly. I’m a klutz.

    YES. Snow subside. Please! Although I imagine you’ll get some respite when you move to BC. I think it’s milder there!

  6. strawberry-blondie

    I tend to wash them when they start feeling too loose and need to be shrunk a bit in the laundry. I’d say that happens after 3 wears. Or, if the inevitable spilling of something occurs, of course!

  7. Yeah every wear seems a bit much – they’d be mere threads after a year!

  8. Tell her all that washing is bad for the environment… ;-)

  9. Fearless: Mud is like that year round here. ;)

    Fleur: That’s usually about the same for me too. I tend to spill on my shirts more than anything.

    We are in the midst of a blizzard here – I haven’t seen this much snow since Kingston. After I type this, I’m going to take a picture. Crazy.

    Ali: When they start to get loose is a good gauge. This is reminding me I need to buy more jeans. I try to space out the wearing of my Primark jeans – for fear of tearing. ;)

    Karen: That’s what I said. Threads in no time.

    Whitenoise: Are you getting this blizzard now? Stupid groundhogs! They were right. ;)

  10. I usually get 2 wears out of my jeans, but if I feel they’re a little loose or kinda wrinkly I just throw ’em in the dryer for a few.

    That is kinda crazy to wear them once and then wash ’em! What a silly billy!

  11. I never wash them after every wear… I get a couple of wear before washing them, but I hate it when they become loose. And I also don’t enjoy washing them, since I usually do a load of pants and they take forever to dry. Also, I’ve heard that jeans are not made to be washed every time you wear them.

  12. Malibupineapple: The dryer is such a great invention. :) My thoughts exactly.

    Evelyne: Most defintely not, jean is a very durable material. I imagine it does them good not to be washed all the time. Get more wear out of them!

  13. I definitely get several wears out of my jeans before washing! I mean, isn’t that why we wear underpants?

    Why is it snowing so much there? That’s nutty!

  14. Yeah, unless you’re going commando, several wears it should be!

    I have no idea, but I’d like it to stop. We’re suppose to be getting rain this weekend. That’ll make for a good ice rink. ;)

Leave a Reply

