less is more

I like when art shows you a little, but not everything, but that in itself is sort of everything.

For me in a good film there is usually one scene that is so subtle, it causes me to double take. Be it for its dialogue, editing or lighting, etc.

This evening I watched RocknRolla, and during the end of a scene between two characters (a man and a woman who showed attraction towards one another), there was a shot of the woman walking away from the man. Said woman is dressed quite elegantly in a tight fighting pencil skirt, and designer shoes. As she leaves, almost mid conversation from the man, he watches her walk away.

Typically, in a Hollywood drama of this nature, our gaze would follow the woman, and we’d watch her bottom trail off screen.

Instead, here our gaze still follows the woman, but its on her shoes. No other part of her body.  We just see her shoes click on the tiles and cut quickly back to the man, who comments on the shoes.

I found this refreshing. There were many standout scenes within the film, but the subtle nature of this one, made me smile.

What about you? Any stand out scenes, in films as of late?

4 Comments

Filed under films

4 responses to “less is more

  1. One of my favorite scenes (lines really) is from the film “Body Heat” when Kathleen Turner’s character says to William Hurt’s character… “You’re not too smart. I like that in a man.”

    I know I have many more, but it’s Monday and my brain is not in gear yet.

  2. Scenes can really be made by a brilliant line. I like Kathleen Turner’s voice, and that’s a good line. Thanks for stopping by, Pat!

  3. That reminds me of the red shoes getting up to dance in the Apartment Story video. Except nobody comments on the shoes.

    This is very low-brow, but in Pineapple Express when Saul kicks out the Slushy-covered windshield in the stolen cop car he is driving and his foot gets stuck, I almost pee myself.

  4. Ah, good comparison. I like shoe shots.

    Haha! I love how much you enjoy that film. :) That is a funny scene, I do like James Franco. From that film, mine still remains the pumping of the gun, and “Thug life.”

Leave a Reply

