i’m going to need some new mixes, methinks

4400 km.

44 hours.

According to Mapquest.

This will be my route…somewhat. Instead of going through Edmonton, we’re heading to Calgary, then over. Originally we thought of going through the US and then up to Sault Ste Marie and take the Trans Canada Highway all the way. But I honestly fear for moose this time of year and that far north I was concerned about road conditions. Figured the freeways would most likely be ploughed.

picture-2

Anyway, I leave in three weeks.

Gulp.

So, please send mix tape playlists my way! Seriously, nearly 50 hours in the car — I am going to need all the help I can get.

12 Comments

Filed under nomad diaries

12 responses to “i’m going to need some new mixes, methinks

  1. captainfearless

    I think the secret is long songs… here are a few 9 min plus tunes…

    Stone Roses – Fools Gold
    Jane’s Addiction – Three Days
    Miles Davis – All Blues)
    Pink Floyd – Echoes
    Neil Young – Ordinary People
    The Doors – The End
    George Harrison – Out of the Blue
    Television – Marquee Moon

    Shorter songs will make the trip seem really long, so absolutely, under no circumstances should you play the Ramones.

  2. I never thought of that, yes long songs might be the way to go. I’ll take those into consideration.

    Ha! I’ll steer clear of anything under 2 minutes.

  3. abel

    David Bowie – Space Oddity
    David Bowie – Life on Mars
    The Flaming Lips – Yoshimi Battle the Pink Robots Pt. 1
    The Flaming Lips – The Spark That Bled
    The Flaming Lips – A Spoonful Weighs a Ton
    The Flaming Lips – Do You Realize? [postal service remix]
    Bob Dylan – Idiot Wind
    Bob Dylan – Stuck Inside Mobile
    John Lennon – Crippled Inside
    The Beatles – While My Guitar Gently Weeps
    The Beatles – Rocky Raccoon

    I tried to keep them roughly 4+ min long.. hmm :o

  4. Big Flaming Lips fan, so they are defintely on the list! Can’t go wrong with the Beatles, Bowie or Dylan. Thanks for your suggestions, Abel! :)

  5. I’m so glad you decided against driving over Lake Superior. It is scary this time of year.

    So thrilled you’ll be coming by my town! I’m going to make you some mix cds for the remainder of the trip, which I will present to you along with the keys to the city.

  6. I’m glad we changed our route. We just booked everything too! Starting to get excited about the move now. :)

    Yay!! Can’t wait. We decided to stop in Jasper after we leave Calgary. It looks so pretty.

  7. serahf

    I have a double disc mix in the works. I will try 2 get it 2 u by sunday nite. Do let me know if I have botched the link.

  8. Ohmygod, that is going to be an amazing trip. I like to listen to David Sedaris, don’t know if that is your thing.

    And did you say why you’re doing this trip and I didn’t see?

  9. Serah: Woo and hoo! Thanks so much. Look forward to hearing it! :)

    Tanya: I got a new job, and I’m moving to Northern BC, so that’s the reason for the trip. I’m getting excited though, should be a great adventure!

  10. How exciting for you Allison, congratulations! Hmm, I second Tanya’s idea, David Sedaris Live at Carnegie Hall is awesome to listen to, add in Kathy Griffin’s For Your Consideration and then fill in the rest with tunes and regional radio.

  11. strawberry-blondie

    Wow! That’s one hell of a journey! Thank goodness you only have to do it one way. I’m guessing your driving buddy is flying back?

    Looking forward to updates along the way. Quite an adventure! :-)

  12. Dale: Thank-you, I’m starting to get excited. :) Ooh, I will take those into consideration, a few comedy albums are defintely key!

    Ali: Yes, defintely. Its a pretty cheap flight, considering.

    I so wish I had a video camera to document it! ;)

Leave a Reply

