postcards from paradise

I received a postcard today from a good friend who is working at a museum in Vanuatu in the South Pacific. From the picture, it looks very lovely and I too wish I was living in a hut on beach, snorkeling and swimming my free time away. Ah well, who needs Vitamin D anyway, its -8 here today!

The picture on the card reminded me a bit of this painting below.

I remember seeing this in Washington, DC when I was about 11 or so. It was huge (to me then). Looks likes its watercolour, doesn’t?

800px-frankenthaler_helen_mountains_and_sea_1952Mountains and Sea

Its not. Its actually oil. The artist, Helen Frankenthaler, introduced a new technique by painting directly onto the canvas, diluting the oil paint so the colour would soak the canvas, creating different effects around each area. Thus, a new generation of the Colour Field school was born.

I’m off to buy a fresh new notebook today, with hopes to soak it with new thoughts. For a new year.


5 Comments

Filed under art, friends

5 responses to “postcards from paradise

  1. captainfearless

    Cool. I just finished my 3rd painting today, and my technique is just slightly below the level of that one. Well, if slightly means a lot.

  2. Congrats. If its the one you mentioned before, I hope the next stage goes swimmingly!

  3. My niece is spending the year in Chile, where she is spending her free time learning to surf. So I am with you on the beach envy.

    That painting does look like watercolour, but I don’t know enough about painting to understand when you would use one over the other. There is so much I need to learn.

  4. FAscinating technique. It does loo so much like watercolour. Beautiful piece

  5. Barb: Beach envy is hard to overcome!

    I think its a matter of ones own style and taste. Watercolour is very hard to master, its not my strong suit. I envy those who do it well.

    Gifted Typist: One of my favoutites. :)

Leave a Reply

