dirty old town, in a dirty old, town

I have a penchant for lithographs.

And Dutch artists.

ball

Hand with Reflecting Sphere (also known as Self-Portrait in Spherical Mirror), 1935

lw328

Ant, 1943

300px-escher_curl-up19511_

Curl-up, 1951

I always wondered what the text in this piece said.

According to Wikipedia…” The text, which is written in Dutch, describes an imaginary species called Pedalternorotandomovens centroculatus articulosus, also known as “wentelteefje” or “rolpens”. He says this creature came into existence because of the absence in nature of wheel shaped, living creatures with the ability to roll themselves forward.”

three_worlds1955

Three Worlds, 1955

Art is in everything…even in that bottle of Balmers I am currently coveting.

3 Comments

Filed under art, lithographs, m.c. escher

3 responses to “dirty old town, in a dirty old, town

  1. captainfearless

    I lurv Escher, I have a print of Reptiles hangin on me wall.

  2. Those are lovely lovely lovely. I love lithos too, I think because I grew up with a house full of Duhrer reproductions. Some of them were morbid but I loved losing myself in them.

  3. Fearless: Moi aussi! I have the Bond of Union on mine.

    Barb: They are indeed. You really can loose yourself in them, so much detail everytime you look, you find something new.

Leave a Reply

