the art of a trailer

I cannot recall what class it was in, but sometime throughout my film and media studies we discussed “the art of making a trailer.”

In some cases its what you base seeing a picture on, right?

Now there are different trailers for different countries, of course. One has to cater to the market. So I was intrigued when looking at the trailer for CHE, the new Soderbergh film, and noticed the differences between the American trailer and the other International ones that are floating about. Of course the American one is a bit more epic and dramatic, and almost twice as long and given the subject matter, probably needed. Of the International ones that I viewed a lot were filled with block quotes and did not show very much action at all.

Anyway, I just found it interesting, really. Any trailers (recent or older) that have stuck out in your mind?

Can you tell I want to go back to school? Need more discussion and analyzing!

Thankfully, I am working on a few projects at the moment. One includes starting French classes soon. The other includes securing a studio place to work on a couple of projects I’ve been mulling over, and after taking with an old art friend I have said place. Hooray. And the other…well that’s only for those in the know.

One of the CHE trailers.

On an sidenote, but seeing as I used the word ‘trailer’ enough in this post…did anyone after viewing The Long Long Trailer, have a strong desire to own an airsteam? No, just me?

8 Comments

Filed under art, films, stuff and things

8 responses to “the art of a trailer

  1. Will

    I love trailers as an art form in their own right, however I’ve come to enjoy seeing movies knowing nothing to very little about them. Sometimes I like to watch trailers after the fact. It’s interesting in cases like “Velvet Goldmine” where the trailer actually gets the movie wrong. I find often that if a trailer really excites me, then the movie disappoints me. Go figure.

    Anyhow, on to Che. Soderbergh is my boy and I like Che, so I’ve been pretty excited about this movie for some time now. I thought the trailers for it were really well done. I think it opens in the Bay Area next weekend.

  2. Trailers can be their own art, most defintely. I find Italian and French trailers to be the best. In some cases I find when a trailer really excites me, the film disappoints me, but there are cases when I’m going to see the film regardless and a trailer or review won’t be a deterrent.

    I am looking forward to seeing Che as well. It probably won’t open here for a while, but hopefully. I was watching an interview with Soderbergh the other day and he was saying how it took 8 years just to do the research, so I am really intrigued to see how events are portrayed.

  3. captainfearless

    Yeah trailers can really ma…Handsome Furs Face Control Leaked…OMG!!

  4. Eeek! But I cannot find it…yet. Just read some of the forums though, positive feedback. Huzzah.

  5. captainfearless

    Check your inbox, yo…

  6. Hooray!

    Quite enjoying it already. Very catchy!

  7. You got a studio space? A room of one’s own? How exciting! Tell me more!

    I think a trailer should pique your interest, NOT tell the entire film in 30 seconds. That is my pet peeve about too many trailers.

  8. Tell me about it. I am excited.

    Agreed. Trailers need to dangle the carrot. :)

Leave a Reply

