jam life into death

A snapshot of my week in Toronto.

Oh, I didn’t mention that I was able to get my computer fixed. Yay! It was the third party power cord that I bought (yes only a week old), and the battery in my laptop (almost three years old) that died. Both at the same time. Anyway, I was able to replace both without a huge cost. Still pricey, but that’s the game.

img_1461 img_1464 img_14691

Todd, Maggie and I at Nirvana on Sunday.

Because I’m a nice person I will not post the video I took of Todd.

Below, Ali and I and Mr. Potato Head, Indiana Jones. He’s this years Thomas.

img_1525 img_1471_1

I need a replacement for blue steel.

You could try magnum.

;)

And there ends the people pictures of my trip. Or I should say, the ones I’m allowed to post. I hope others will surface at some point from various cameras, as I was slack on the shutter and just soaked up the conversations with friends this time round.

And now the random pictures!

I realise that you’re not able to click on the thumbnails to make them bigger, for some reason WordPress is being sticky, and I don’t feel like fiddling with the HTML to fix it at the moment. However, if there is a picture of the art you’d like to see bigger, leave a comment and I’ll link it for you.

***

These are all pictures taken at the Royal Ontario Museum (ROM), the exhibition is called Housepaint, which runs until July. I highly recommend it. My favourite pieces are the first and last of the bunch. There is something so striking about black and white art that gets me everytime.

The first exhibition on the subject of street art in a major Canadian museum. Drawing attention to issues of poverty and homelessness, this ground-breaking exhibition is a collaboration between ten street artists in memory of the former residents of Toronto’s Tent City (ROM).

img_1484 img_1481 img_1487

img_1483 img_14941

img_1488 img_1492 img_1490

La Chateu mannequins don’t even surprise me anymore.

Some of you are aware of my recent search for a Yoda doll, well, more specifically a Yoda keychain…which I have not been able to find. Sigh. So if you’re looking for something to get me…Anyway, I saw this doll in a comic book store on Queen’s Street. Think he’s a bit pricey though ($800).

img_1505 img_1506

The rest of the pictures are from the Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO), mainly from levels 4 & 5, which house the contemporary art.

img_15081 img_1509 img_1510

I was immediately drawn to the picture on the left from across the room. I wanted to chizzle away at the glass.

The middle picture asks “When I think of Canada…” – what would you draw?

The last picture was huge, taking up an entire wall and in the middle it reads “Jam Life into Death.”

img_1512 img_1516 img_1514

The totem pole golf bags on the left was one of my favourite pieces. Such a brilliant statement.

The middle picture, is the label from the Urban Dance Trailer, which was so groovy! There would be pictures but I was caught with my camera and couldn’t sneak any of the trailer which was decked out with twinkle lights, and inside you could pick and choose from a  variety of records and play them on the old school fisher price players. Awesome.

And that concludes my week. I hope yours was just as enjoyable.

3 Comments

Filed under art, friends

3 responses to “jam life into death

  1. Look how cute you guys are! Adorable, each and every one of you!

    It looks like there is some great stuff happening at ROM and AGO lately. I wish I could tour them myself, maybe I’ll seek out some galleries in town. Once it warms up a bit.

  2. Greetings & Salutations, you Superior Scribbler, you! Melissa B. here, The Scholastic Scribe, & the “Original” Superior Scribbler! 2 things on my mind today: I’ve been nominated for a pretty prestigious blog award, and would greatly appreciate your vote; so if you click on over to my place, you’ll see the info. It’s an annual award from EduBlog, and I’m up for Best Individual Blog. And also, don’t forget to come by tomorrow for the Silly Sunday Sweepstakes. Thanks for your support!

  3. Aw, thanks Barb! ;)

    There were a few good exhibits in each, its a shame that the admission price is so expensive ($22 for the ROM and $18 for the AGO). I wouldn’t pay the ticket price again for the ROM, but for the AGO I would.

    Local galleries always are good for hidden gems, but yes, not very inviting in this weather.

Leave a Reply

