it’s the side effects that save us…there’s a science to walking through windows without you

I woke up this morning and couldn’t really swallow.

I knew it was the start of strep throat. Everything felt swollen and I had no other cold symtoms besides a fever. Also my ear was sore, but that’s normal.

I called in sick and then passed out again in my bed until about 3pm.

While lying in bed I scrolled through some music news and found out that The National had done a BBC 6 music interview and played some new songs.

I turned up the volume on my phone and set it next to my pillow and closed my eyes and let the music wash over me.

Pure bliss.

Honestly, (good) music heals. Especially when it’s your favourite band.

I conjured up the energy to go to the clinic where I found out I have a double ear infection and strep. Got my Amoxicillin, picked up soup and popsicles and went back to my bed, fired up my media player and put all three new tracks on repeat.

I will admit, this winter was rough on me and I think part of the reason why is because I stopped listening to music.

Remind me never to do that again, eh?

I am not my rosey self, left the roses on the shelf. Take the white ones they’re my favourite…

3 Comments

Filed under music, stuff and things

3 responses to “it’s the side effects that save us…there’s a science to walking through windows without you

  1. Good to know the National has the power to heal. They should get a revival tent and take that on the road! (Hope you’re feeling better)

  2. here’s to the healing power of cherry blossoms

  3. I wish the cherry blossoms stayed year round. Although then I guess they wouldn’t be as special then!

Leave a Reply

