missed connections

You were right.

Those that said I’d be back. 

Those that said I’d miss the words and the connections made here. 

I bow down to you. 

Although I’ve been singing the praises of Tumblr for well over a year now, I must admit, it’s just not doing it for me anymore. The few friendships I’ve managed to cultivate through that site (with the exception of one), have managed to crash and burn and I’ve found it to be an even more transient place then the blogsphere. 

I’ve been pondering why that is. 

I think it has to do with the narrow subject matter of my Tumblr, and how I’m not always writing about everything in my life, which is what I’ve been doing here since 2005. At first it was freeing, having an space where people really didn’t know me. It met the anonymity I had been craving. Yet, as time passed, I started to miss the interactions of this space. I’ve always said a blog comes alive in the comment section. That’s how I’ve gotten to know so many of you. 

Now I know there are so few of you left, the comments almost as sparse as my posts, so what will come of this space now? I’m not sure. But I’m still intrigued to find out. 

For right now, I’m getting ready for a weekend trip to Seattle. Partaking in good friends, good food and of course, good music. Look for an update on Monday.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “missed connections

  1. The blogosphere has become sparsely populated, at least our little corner of it. We generalists are no match for the nichers, with their purse blogs and their French Onion Soup blogs. But we can rebuild. We have the words to do so. Welcome back, my friend.

  2. Hear, hear! Off to check out updates on your page. :)

  3. bloody awful poetry

    Glad to have you back, seriously =) I’ve missed your words very much (is that creepy? I hope it’s not creepy).

    And I must agree as far as Tumblr goes ; I use that site quite frequently now, and I’ve bonded with a handful of people over mutual love of TV shows and music (as one is wont to do on Tumblr) but I find myself wondering how much longer these relationships will last, if at all. The anonymity is refreshing, though.

  4. Same here (re: Tumblr)

    It’s good to be back. I’ve missed you guys! :)

Leave a Reply

