That’s a major appliance, that’s not a name!

I read John Hughes passed away right before going into an important meeting this afternoon, and the title to this post kept going through my head. One of my favourite lines he was responsible for.

There have been so many celebrity deaths this year, but this one is the most shocking and sad to me because his scripts were what started me on my crazy film dreams. He wrote young adults and family so incredibly well, in such a way that we all could relate. He will be missed.

Rest in peace John…

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “That’s a major appliance, that’s not a name!

  1. I thought of you when I heard that John Hughes had died, because I know how much his films meant to you. They didn’t quite have the same impact on me, maybe an age difference, maybe a difference in sensibilities at the time, but even so I was stunned by the news.

    I’ll bet you a million bucks that “Don’t You Forget About Me” gets blipped a million times tonight. And you know what? That’s fine by me.

    RIP John Hughes.

  2. So young, 59, out for a morning walk.

    He left us with a great legacacy. I’ll be having a film marathon in his honour this weekend.

    I logged on quickly to see if that was the case, but not so much. I played the Psychedelic Furs. :)

  3. It was just last weekend that I played Ferris Bueller for my son and his friend. I told them it was a must see; an important one to dear old Dad if you will. They both loved it, spouting ‘Buellerisms’ for at least a couple days after.

    Hughes’ movies were indeed the ones that stuck with you for one reason or another. They somehow made growing up a little more bearable and always felt relative.

    His passing is sad but that amazing cinematic legacy will live on… Touching hearts and souls all along the way.

    RIP John Hughes and thank you.

    s

  4. Allison

    It amazing the films he penned in such a short amount of time, his impact definitely will live on. I am glad to hear that your son and company are enjoying his work so long after. :)

  5. I was too young to appreciate those movies when they came out, and too old when I rediscovered them. I missed my chance at teen angst :(

  6. That is a shame…I didn’t appreciate them fully until I was much older.

  7. Pingback: Glee Review: Holly is my Holiday - Poptimal.com : Poptimal.com: Pop-Culture Reviews From People Like You

  8. Pingback: Glee Review: Holly is my Holiday « The Joe Lake Blog The Joe Lake Blog

Leave a Reply

